Ilayaraja and Beyond
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Strings of Raja

5 posters

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

Go down

Strings of Raja Empty Strings of Raja

Post  ravinat Sun May 23, 2021 11:59 pm

Last night, in my zoom show, I brought up a new topic that can be expanded and discussed here. This is about the strings of Raja. While everybody agrees that Raja's strings are special, nobody seems to elaborate. I took the risk of trying to explain why Raja's strings are so special though we had/have a number of composers who were/are violinists by profession.

First, some history. TKR was a violinist composer. We also had Kunnakudi Vaidyanathan for some years as a composer, and he was a violinist. Ousepachchan in Malayalam is a professional violin player. There are a few others, whose name escapes me. Feel free to add them to the list. The point here is, Raja is not. He is a guitarist. Despite that, he is known for his strings. Even the worst of Tamil TV channels, will get a few violinists when they organize a 'Raja round'. So, everybody agrees, but nobody cares to figure out how this happened. This series of posts will explore how Raja systematically learned about the instrument and became a master at conducting it and also experimenting with it to the point that I would place him alongside John Williams, Ennio Morricone, Jerry Goldsmith, Hans Zimmer and their ultimate guru Richard Wagner. Why do I bring Wagner into this? You can make violins sound fine, melancholic, pleasing, and also room filling, but you require horns to make is all sound grand. Now, you need to become good at brass as well as strings to do that. That is the pinnacle of orchestral arrangement for films. This is the place that no Indian composer has got to.

Only Raja has.

ravinat

http://geniusraja.blogspot.com

app_engine, Usha, nanjilaan and BC like this post

Back to top Go down

Strings of Raja Empty Re: Strings of Raja