Ilayaraja and Beyond
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Raja's present state (2019) and next steps

+6
irfan123
jaiganesh
crimson king
Raaga_Suresh
app_engine
ravinat
10 posters

Go down

Raja's present state (2019) and next steps Empty Raja's present state (2019) and next steps

Post  ravinat Mon May 20, 2019 6:26 pm

I have been observing Raja for the past 2 years and the story is not good. He has been college hopping and feeding people with past nostalgia. He has had no releases of significance in the past 2 years.This presents some important questions about Raja and his present state and where he wants to go next.

1. Firstly, there are no threats on the basis of domination, and other considerations to unseat him. He has no seat in the first place. Most of his old detractors have either disappeared (GA, BR, VM) or dead (KB). Of course some of his great supporters are also dead (Mahendran, Balu Mahendra)
  2. The industry wants to praise him sky high but nobody wants to touch him with any serious projects. Most of the so called die hard fans of him (Balki, Dhanush) have no projects for him. Most of the others do a project with him (Suseendran, Gautam Menon) and move on
  3. His focus is primarily on protecting and monetizing his old work of the 80s and 90s. He has realized that it is the only thing that can be monetized. All efforts to showcase his work past 90s have not succeeded
  4. The last days of MSV was also spent on some TV shows and people asking him about his work in the 60s and early 70s. I cannot help draw a parallel
  5. Raja is not a serious contender to do any Western films as he needs to do some big compromises to get assignments